LAS faculty honors and awards.

Awardee Honor/award Awarder
Kathleen Hilliard 2017-2018 Kate B. and Hall J. Peterson Fellowship American Antiquarian Society
Kathleen Hilliard 2017-2018 Program in Early American Economy and Society Fellowship at the Library Company of Philadelphia The Library Company of Philadelphia
Kathleen Hilliard 2017-2018 Suzanne and Caleb Loring Fellowship on the Civil War, Its Origins, and Consequences Awarded jointly by the Boston Athenaeum and Massachusetts Historical Society.
Charissa Menefee Second Place winner at the ISU Faculty Research Day Lightning talks Office of the Vice President for Research
Michael Golemo Distinguished Service to Music Medal Kappa Kappa Psi National Honorary Band Fraternity
Amber Manning-Ouellette, Lecturer in Leadership Studies and Psychology 2017 Gender and Sexuality Research Award Margaret Sloss Women’s Center and the Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Student Services
Stacey Weber-Fève, Associate Professor of French 2017 Dorothy Ludwig Excellence in Teaching Award at the Post-Secondary Level American Association of Teachers of French (AATF)
Eric Gangloff Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellowship European Commission
Director of Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication honored
LAS faculty and staff CYtation Awards Professional and Scientific Council
Department of Music and Theatre's Cyclone Marching Band John Philip Sousa Foundation’s Sudler Trophy for Excellence The John Philip Sousa Foundation
Kelly Odenweller Sandra Petronio Dissertation Excellence Award National Communication Association Family Communication Division
Michael Tringides 2017 Theodore E. Madey Award American Vacuum Society
Edward Yu 2016 Fellow of the American Physical Society American Physical Society
Mayly Sanchez Cassling Family Professorship LAS
Paul C. Canfield James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials American Physical Society
Alicia Carriquiry induction National Academy of Medicine
Nathan Young Hydrogeology Division Student Research Award Geological Society of America
Richard Mansbach Distinguished Scholar Panel International Studies Association
Debra Marquart inclusion in the Best American Poetry 2016 anthology New School Writing Program
Leigh Tesfatsion two grants Department of Energy, Iowa Energy Center
Elisa Rizo, Elanor Taylor Cassling Family Faculty Awards LAS
Rachel Meyers 2016 Jerry Shakeshaft Master Teacher LAS
Colleen Bertoni Margaret Butler Fellowship in Computational Science Argonne Leadership Computing Facility
Jennifer Knox 2017 Iowa Arts Council Fellowship Iowa Arts Council
Jeffrey Trimarchi Outstanding Honors teaching, advising, or mentoring University Honors Program
Kirsten Hofmockel Early Career Research Program Department of Energy
Rebecca Flint early career grants U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science, National Science Foundation
Nina Whitney 2016 Gretchen L. Blechschmidt Award Geological Society of America
Jay Newell 2016 Distinguished Advertising Educator Award American Advertising Federation
Catherine Kling President’s Chair in Environmental Economics President Steven Leath
Long Nguyen Distinguished Alumni Award Iowa State University Alumni Association
Krista Klocke 2016 Wallace E. Barron All-University Senior Award Iowa State University Alumni Association
Young-Jin Lee 2016 Trapp Innovation Award LAS
Amy Erica Smith Visiting Fellowship University of Notre Dame’s Kellogg Institute of International Studies
Michael Bugeja 2015 Charles E. Scripps Journalism & Mass Communication Administrator of the Year Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
Dave Vogel, Dirk Deam Student Choice Award Iowa State Daily
Jonathan Wendel featured Crop Science Society of America
Lynn Clark 2016 Peter Raven Award American Society of Plant Taxonomists
Charlie Kostelnick 2016 Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research Society for Technical Communication
Gary Wells 2017 James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award Association for Psychological Science
Michael Chris Low 2016 Alice Hamilton Prize American Society for Environmental History
Bill Simpkins 2015 George Bruke Maxey Distinguished Service Award Geological Society of America, Hydrogeology Division
Christopher Harrison Assistant Marine Officer Instructor of the Year, Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps, North central Region United Services Automobile Association
Paul Canfield Vice Chair for the Division of Condensed Matter Physics American Physical Society
Alison Phillips 2016 Rising Star Association for Psychological Science
Jennifer Knox review New York Times Sunday Book Review