Anand awarded 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award


Robbyn Anand, assistant professor of chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, was selected as a recipient of the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award for her work in bioanalysis, electrochemistry, microfluidics, and electrokinetics.

This competitive award is presented by 3M to recognize outstanding young faculty who excel in STEM research, academic leadership, and experience as a means of helping them achieve tenure.

Research in the Anand group addresses critical needs in human health and advances sustainable energy technologies. Currently, the group is developing analytical methods and microscale devices to:

  • Capture rare cell types to understand their role in cancer progression
  • Analyze cells individually or in clusters to understand mechanisms of drug resistance and invasion in cancer
  • Enrich and remove waste components from dialysate fluid to improve treatment modalities available to patients with kidney disease
  • Focus inflammatory markers in tear fluid for diagnosis of autoimmune disease
  • Extract detailed electrochemical information from many reactions in parallel, without the need for multiple potentiostats, for multiplexed sensing and for screening electrocatalysts.