LAS celebrates alumni

CATEGORIES: Alumni, News
Text: 2021 LAS Honors and Awards Ceremony

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS) will celebrate the accomplishments of alumni and friends of the college during the 2021 LAS Alumni Honors and Awards Ceremony on Oct. 21, 2021 at the ISU Alumni Center.

With nearly 75,000 living alumni, LAS boasts innovative professionals who impact the world in an incredibly diverse range of roles and industries. Each year the college hosts a ceremony to honor alumni selected as recipients of awards from the ISU Alumni Association, the college, and LAS departments:

LAS alumna recognized with an award from the ISU Alumni Association
Iowa State University Alumni Association Alumni Medal
Becky Stadlman (’74 Journalism and Mass Communication)

Recipients recognized with college awards
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Citation of Merit
Kate Henderson (’97 Biology)

LAS Distinguished Service Award
Jeff White (’92 Journalism and Mass Communication)

Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award
Evelio Otero Jr. (’82 Journalism and Mass Communication, Political Science)

John V. Atanasoff Discovery Award
Kenneth J. Sufka (’86 Psychology; MS ’88, Ph.D. ‘90)

Recipients recognized with awards from LAS departments

Department of Chemistry
Outstanding Alumni Award
Karen Nordell Pearson Ph.D. (’97 Inorganic Chemistry)

Department of Computer Science
Distinguished Alumni Award
Kathleen F. Hahn Davidson (’73 Computer Science and Mathematics)

Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology
Distinguished Alumni Award
Dr. Katherine L. Gross (’75 Biology)

Department of Economics
Distinguished Services for the Public Good Award
Sam Summers (’06 Economics and Marketing)

Department of Genetics, Development, and Cell Biology
Distinguished Alumni Award
David C. Morrison (’10 Genetics, International Studies and Political Science)

Department of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
Distinguished Alumni Award
Breea J. Lisko (’00 Meteorology)

Department of History
Distinguished Alumni Award
Anne Effland Ph.D. (’91 Agricultural History and Rural Studies)

Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
2020 James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Communication
Richard R. Phillips (’78 Journalism and Mass Communication)

Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
2021 James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Communication
Debra Solberg Gibson (’81 Family Environment/Family Services, Home Economics Journalism)

Department of Mathematics
Distinguished Alumni Award
Timothy J. Pennings Ph.D. (’87 Mathematics)

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Distinguished Alumni Award
Greg Pickrell (’73 Physics)

Department of Political Science
Distinguished Alumni Award
Dianne (Kneeskern) Liepa (’71 Political Science; MS ’75 Political Science)

Department of Psychology
Distinguished Alumni Award
Brian E. Brooks (MS ’01 Psychology; Ph.D.’04 Psychology and Neuroscience)

Department of World Languages and Cultures
Distinguished Alumni Award
Jesse W. Leonard (’14 German and Mechanical Engineering)

Stadlman and the LAS award recipients received their awards at an ISU Alumni Association event Friday, Oct. 22 and LAS department award recipients received awards on Oct. 21. Photos from the event can be found here:

The LAS Honors and Awards Ceremony is a private event, but anyone can watch via livestream.