Iowa State’s political science students score 3rd in Midwest Model European Union Competition

CATEGORIES: Notable, Students

Iowa State University teams representing France and Poland tied for 3rd place at the Midwest Model European Union (MMEU) that took place at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana in April.

MMEU is an educational simulation of the European Union Council and its ministries, designed to help college and university students learn about the workings of the European Union through a hands-on simulation where team members play the roles of prime ministers and presidents, commissioners, ministers, and diplomats, spending three days debating policy, resolving disputes, building compromises, and charting the course of European integration.

Team France
Team France

MMEU is attended by over 160 students each year from 37 different colleges and universities. This annual competition began in 1993 and is the second oldest of its kind in North America. Students take on the persona of a European Head of State or high ranking official within the administration of a European Nation. They work on a seven person team who must present a united and cohesive administration.

Team Poland
Team Poland

The France team consisted of: Andrew Fackler (political science ’17), Mariam Remus (political science ’17), Dex Nash (linguistics ’18), Steven Valentino (political science ’18), Rizal Ucok (political science ’20), John Kitten (political science ’18), and Joey Tompulis (history ’18).

The Poland team consisted of: Kathryn Walker (political science ’20), Mart-E Broadnax (political science ’20), Paul Lubberstedt (political science and computer science ’18), Alexander Sandeen (political science ’19), Araceli Lopez (political science ’20), Larry Chu (political science ’20), Jessica Holtkamp (psychology ’19), Rob Bingham (political science ’19).

Tompulis also won an individual all-over award for "Best Director General."

The participants from Iowa State begin preparation for the conference eight to ten weeks in advance and demonstrated exceptional skills in the fields of diplomacy, public speaking, cooperation, and extemporization. The students developed and displayed a breadth of knowledge in European politics, as well as current events, and issues facing the people of Europe. Awards are given based on the team’s effectiveness in passing legislation, acting in character for their country, and best exemplifying the European Union.

Ellen Pirro, a senior lecturer in the Department of Political Science, is faculty instructor and adviser for ISU’s Model European Union.